Tuesday, June 14, 2005



Yesterday's NY TIMES was very supportive of the Senate's apology for not passing any of the anti-lynching legislation proposed over the decades. "Although the Senate garnered praise on Monday for acting to erase that stain, some critics said lawmakers had a long way to go. Of the 100 senators, 80 were co-sponsors of the resolution, and because it passed by voice vote, senators escaped putting themselves on record. "It's a statement in itself that there aren't 100 co-sponsors," Senator John Kerry, Democrat of Massachusetts, said. "It's a statement in itself that there's not an up-or-down vote," which the GOP leadership refused to allow. (They like certain up and down votes and not others.) Anyway, I don't know how many of the non-sponsors are KKK members, but I do know that all are extreme right-wing Republicans with voting records that are consistently against the interests of minority citizens and against working men and women in general. Here's the latest Hall of Shame from the U.S. Senate: Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Robert Bennett (R-UT), Thad Cochran (R-MS),
John Cornyn (R-TX), Michael Crapo (R-Aryan Nation of ID), Michael Enzi (R-WY),
Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Judd Gregg (R-NH), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Trent Lott (R-MS)-- which makes a united front for the great state of Mississippi, scene of more lynchings, BY FAR, than any other state in the U.S., both Senators opposing the resolution-- Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Richard Shelby (R-AL), John Sununu (R-NH), Craig Thomas (R-WY) and Tom Noe's good friend George Voinovich (R-OH).


At 2:51 PM, Blogger Philbert Suggs said...

He calls him Crapo....Funny...
Caller to Senator Crepos office....



Post a Comment

<< Home